Not Buried Yet

21st novel in John Sandford’s Prey series is one of his strongest

The 21st novel in John Sandford’s Prey series featuring Minneapolis police investigator Lucas Davenport is one of his strongest. Buried Prey (Putnam Adult, $28) opens with the construction-site discovery of the bodies of two young girls, murdered 25 years earlier. Davenport was a rookie street cop then, eager to become a plainclothes detective. His instincts told him the schizophrenic homeless man charged with the crime was not the real perpetrator, but he had neither the experience nor the political leverage to make his case. Now he’s a top investigator with both the skills and the clout to ensure that the real murderer is brought to justice. Older Lucas redeems young Lucas.

Suggested Next Read

Art Anarchy


Art Anarchy

By Laura Henkel

Melanie Coffee’s personal collection of 1980s nostalgia and teen angst is perched behind black wrought-iron gates and displayed upon X-ray light boxes and metallic blue walls. The punk-rock art fliers, Ann Summa photography and video art installations are all part of the inaugural exhibition of Coffee’s new space in Emergency Arts, Gamma Gamma Gallery (Fri-Sat 7-9 p.m., 520 E. Fremont St., Suite 109). The show, which runs through May 30, is appropriately called Gamma, Gamma Hey! 1980s Punk Rock Flyer Art and Ephemera Show.