Mike Moser cleans up with multiple Mountain West postseason honors

Anthony Marshall, Chace Stanback, Oscar Bellfield also among Rebels recognized by league media

Mike Moser’s sensational first season at UNLV was recognized by the Mountain West Conference media, and in turn, the sophomore forward earned a load of postseason honors on Monday night.

The versatile 6-foot-8 wing was named first team All-Mountain West, was made a member of the league’s all-defensive team and also was honored as the MWC Newcomer of the Year.

In conference play, Moser was one of two MWC players to average a double-double, going for 13.7 points and 10.2 rebounds a contest in 14 league games. Votes are supposed to be made strictly on performance in Mountain West play.

Joining Moser on the first team is San Diego State’s Jamaal Franklin — the Mountain West Player of the Year — New Mexico’s Drew Gordon, TCU’s Hank Thorns and Colorado State’s Wes Eikmeier.

The second team included UNLV junior guard Anthony Marshall, while third team honors went to Rebel seniors Chace Stanback and Oscar Bellfield.

Marshall also joined Moser on the league’s all-defensive team.

San Diego State’s Steve Fisher was named the Coach of the Year, TCU’s Kyan Anderson was the Freshman of the Year, Wyoming’s JayDee Luster was the Defensive Player of the Year and TCU’s Amric Fields is the league’s Sixth Man of the Year.

Click here for a full list of Mountain West postseason honorees.