CD Reviews

>album title goes here<, Scream, Coexist


Deadmau5, >album title goes here< (Ultra Records)

When the single “The Veldt” was released, it only generated a “meh” for me. Sure, legions of Deadmau5 fanatics ate it up like government cheese, but as someone who’s been listening to the mau5 since ’07 and had “Hey Baby” on repeat, his tracks just don’t feel as innovative and edgy anymore. That’s not to say his latest LP is a bomb: It just feels a bit uninspired, even with Imogen Heap on “Telemiscommunications.” The most exciting moment is when Deadmau5 dabbles in hip-hop with Cypress Hill on “Failbait.” In fact, an entire Deadmau5 hip-hop album would be welcome because that particular track shows a unique take on the sound and more in the same vein could reinvigorate his production. ★★☆☆☆

What We’re Buying

1. Various Artists, Kanye West Presents Good Music Cruel Summer
2. The Killers, Battle Born
3. Grizzly Bear, Shields
4. Down, Down IV Part 1-The Purple EP
5. Pink, The Truth About Love
6. Brother Ali, Mourning in America & Dreaming in Color
7. Band of Horses, Mirage Rock
8. The xx, Coexist
9. Bob Dylan, Tempest
10. Ben Folds Five, The Sound of the Life of the Mind

According to sales at Zia Record Exchange on 4225 S. Eastern Ave., Sept. 17-24.


Markus Schulz, Scream (Armada)

Numerous producers talk about wanting to take the listener on a journey. But Markus Schulz, just named America’s Best DJ 2012 by DJ Times, embodies that on Scream. From the opening “Our Moment” to get listeners in the zone, a fantastic assault of banging trance kicks with Ferry Corsten on “Loops & Tings,” making one crave to experience the music surrounded by thousands at a festival. The 19 tracks with varying moods are saturated with collaborations and exemplify truly powerful electronic dance music. They’re not overtly commercial, and each track’s amazing composition can sufficiently stand on its own. Scream is a flawless, timeless representation of the true heart and soul of EDM that will give you chills. ★★★★★

Atmospheric indie Pop

The xx, Coexist (Young Turks)

The English band has kept us waiting since their debut album in 2009. Thankfully Coexist continues the same vein of depressingly beautiful lyrics and haunting simplicity. The seductive dual-vocals of Romy Madley Croft and Oliver Sim wrap the listener in a blanket of longing, with lyrics on “Try” such as You know the way I/ can’t resist you I/ say to myself, I try/ Why do we waste time?/ Hiding it inside/ I want you to be mine. A cathedral-like reverb throughout lends a pureness to the emotion for a perfect album to curl up and cry to after a bad breakup—while still being inspiring. ★★★☆☆

Disc Scan

Upcoming albums on Deanna’s radar …

OCT. 1: Like house music? As in real house music? Miguel Migs was recently dubbed an official House Master by Defected Records, complete with a two-CD, comprehensive compilation of his career. Also out on the same date, U.K. rap/grime/dubstep group Foreign Beggars release The Uprising via Deadmau5’s mau5trap label. OCT. 2: According to the track listing, the third studio album from Boys Noise, Out of the Black, will feature a collaboration with Snoop Dogg—er—Snoop Lion. OCT. 9: It isn’t always EDM for this writer; the next Meshell Ndegeocello album, Pour une âme souveraine, reworks Nina Simone with help from Sinead O’Connor, Toshi Reagon (who’s also completely amazing), Valerie June and more.